Connect with us


McCain, Giffords, Rapinoe and Biles: Biden names Medal of Freedom recipients

Sen. John McCain, Denzel Washington and Megan Rapinoe are among the many 17 Americans who will obtain the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Joe Biden at a ceremony subsequent week, the White House introduced Friday.

“These seventeen Americans demonstrate the power of possibilities and embody the soul of the nation — hard work, perseverance, and faith,” the Biden administration wrote in a press release. The ceremony is scheduled to be held subsequent Thursday on the White House, the assertion stated.

Among the named recipients are former lawmakers together with former Rep. Gabby Giffords (D-Ariz.) and the late Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.). Giffords has emerged as one of the nation’s highest-profile advocates for gun security legal guidelines after she survived a mass shooting in 2011, whereas McCain has long been venerated as a conflict hero and prisoner of conflict in Vietnam in addition to for his lengthy tenure within the Senate. McCain, a two-time presidential candidate whose time within the Senate overlapped for many years with Biden’s, died in 2018.

Source link